monthly feature: jan-dirk platek


the second participant in our monthly feature is with 38 releases on bandcamp (!) undoubtedly one of the more productive composers out there; jan-dirk platek.

jan, born in 1976, is a multi-instrumentalist and besides releasing piano music with a neoclassical touch, he is also the creator of post-rock/electronic project we deserve this.

one of his latest albums, a feeling named hope is a beautifully executed reminder of how death always will be a part of life. talking about the atmosphere of the album and the concept, platek states that “there are no happy endings, so the album is melancholic but never depressed” – a perfect contemplation that accurately describes the mood of this clean, minimal yet highly powerful record.

Cover A Feeling Named Hope SC


01 the testament
02 awake
03 rose
04 a feeling named hope
05 lies
06 helicopter
07 stars
08 clouds
09 death on sunday
10 coffin
11 tears

a feeling named hope can be purchased from jan-dirk plateks’s bandcamp.
also be sure to look out for his coming album distance, out on friday.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s